January 29, 2018

The MORR Sportsman Banquet celebrating the 2017 TORC Sportsman season saw nearly 500 racers, friends, fans and supporters pack the banquet hall at the Island Casino in Harris, Michigan this past Saturday night.

The night began with the top drivers and all the class champions supported by MORR presented by Allstar Performance and Optima Batteries.

This season a total of 208 Sportsman drivers competed in the series, a 20% increase from the 2016 season. Competitors represented eleven states including Wisconsin, Illinois, Michigan, Indiana, Ohio, Georgia, Florida, Arizona, Nevada, California, Minnesota as well as Ontario, Canada.


The 2017 season saw Motor State Distributing become the presenting sponsor of the MORR group with two if its vendors Allstar Performance and Optima Batteries. MORR also added several partners as class naming sponsors which increased the year end payout to many of the classes. This included Londerville Steel Stock, Powersports1 Sportsman UTV, Rod End Supply Super Buggy, One Graphix Super Stock Truck, Quickcar 1600 Bugggy, Poynette Iron Works, and Nick Holtger Construction/Cory’s Crank and Nail Kids Karts.

Additional year end awards saw Super Stock Champion Nick Byng and 1600 Buggy Champion Bruce Fraley receive an Impact Racing helmet and driving suit, While top rookie Light Buggy points racer Hunter Tingley was awarded a vinyl wrap for his race buggy from One Off Graphix.

Each class champion received a personalized Allstar Performance Class Champions jacket. Each second place finisher in the year end points standings that attended the banquet received a Traxxas Slash R/C car.

This season saw all four race promoters, TORC, ERX, Bark River, and Crandon as well as Motor State Distributing add to the Sportsman payout as well.

Representatives from TORC, USAC and Bark River International Off-Road Raceway as well as Crandon International Off-Road Raceway were in attendance. Off-Road Hall of Fame member Cliff Flannery and his team from “The Big House” were in attendance to hand out the World Championship rings as well as to enjoy the evening among their Sportsman friends.

The results of the MORR Board elections saw two new members, Nick Byng and Ryan Stingle garner enough votes to fill two of the three vacant positions as Dan Vandenheuvel was reelected to another term.

Once all the awards were handed out the winning ticket numbers of the over 115 donated items and services for the MORR fundraiser were announced. Much of the funds raised during the night’s festivities are used to support members of the MORR family that are in need.

Here are the 2017 Class Champions:


Londerville Steel Stock Truck 

Diesel Shanak – Waupaca, WI

Powersports1 Sportsman UTV

Jacob Rosales – Bonaire, GA

Rod End Supply Super Buggy

Michael Meister – Hatley, WI

One Off Graphics Super Stock Truck

Nick Byng – Abrams, WI

Quickcar 1600 Buggy

Bruce Fraley – Las Vegas, NV

Poynette Iron Works Light Buggy

Jake Nelson – Rhinelander, WI

Nick Holtger Construction/Cory’s Crank & Nail Kids Kart

Easton Sleaper – Tomahawk, WI

Formula 4×4

Ben Passa – Holman, WI


Dale Chestnut – Verona, WI

Sportsman World Champions

Kenny Platten – Super Stock Truck
Sterling Cling – Super Buggy
Trevor Bushmaker – Sportsman UTV
Greg Stingle – Light Buggy
JD Koran – 1600 Buggy
Ben Passa – Formula 4×4
Dale Chestnut – Classix
Diesel Shanak – Stock Truck
Braden Beauchamp – Kids kart

MORR Awards

Most Improved Driver: Colin Schulz – Light Buggy
Best Win: Kenny Platten – Super Stock Truck
Hard Charger Award: Joey Maciosek -Super Stock Truck
Best Team: Byng Motorsports -Super Stock Truck
Rookie of the Year: Ben Holtger – Super Stock Truck
Tough Luck Award: Cory Holtger – 1600 Buggy
Driver of the Year: Nick Byng
Farmer John Award: Charlie McCormick – Automatic Transmission Design
-Midwest Off Road Racing, Story & Pics