CJ Greaves wins in Day 1 TORC Series racing at the Dirt Track

August 19, 2016

TORC: The Off-Road Championship presented by AMSOIL returned to the bullring Friday for the first day of doubleheader action at The Dirt Track at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

The opening day saw CJ Greaves earn his sixth PRO 4WD victory of 2016, a PRO 2WD win for Keegan Kincaid, and a third-straight win for Kyle Kleiman in Atturo Tire PRO Light.

Stadium SUPER Trucks joined the series and Sheldon Creed took the victory in a field that included TORC PRO 2WD regular Arie Luyendyk Jr., and NASCAR star Kenny Wallace.

unnamed (5)CJ Greaves wins again in PRO 4WD. (PHOTO: TORC Series)



In Friday PRO 4WD action, it was Mike Jenkins who took the early lead. He held it for the entire first half but couldn’t keep defending PRO 4WD champion CJ Greaves from earning his sixth win of the year — and his fifth in a row. Jenkins finished second and Chad Hord rounded out the podium.

“We knew it was going to take a nice, clean pass to get around Mike and I didn’t want to make any contact or anything like that,” Greaves said. “We just took our time and worked the lines.”

Jenkins started on the front row and maintained the point until the mandatory caution. Scott Douglas was a contender until contact with Ross Hoek flattened a tire, putting Douglas off the pace.

On the restart, CJ Greaves immediately took the lead while his father, three-time class champion Johnny Greaves, struggled after spinning out due to contact. He wound up fifth and now trails his son in the title chase by 12 points.

PRO 4WD Results:

  1. CJ Greaves
  2. Mike Jenkins
  3. Chad Hord
  4. Larry Pegram
  5. Johnny Greaves
  6. Kent Brascho
  7. Scott Douglas
  8. Earl Bamber
  9. Ross Hoek

unnamed (6)

Keegan Kincaid gets around CJ Greaves to claim the win. (PHOTO: TORC Series)


Keegan Kincaid put a stop to CJ Greaves’ winning streak Friday night, returning to the top of the podium after an exciting flag-to-flag battle with the defending champion. Greaves had to settle for second, while Kyle Hart finished third.

“CJ was just dominant the last few rounds,” said Kincaid afterwards. “We had a little bit for him, but we were not where we wanted to be. We went and did some testing and it paid off.”

Mike Jenkins made his third PRO 2WD start of the season on Friday, starting on the front row beside Arie Luyendyk Jr. But Jenkins fell through the field soon after the green flag while Luyendyk Jr. held a brief lead until Greaves made a pass at the start of the sixth lap.

But it was Kincaid who had the truck to beat and when he finally overtook Greaves, it was game on: the two battled door-to-door for the remaining laps. Kincaid held on to claim his fourth victory of the year.

With just two rounds to go, Kincaid trails defending champion Greaves by 22 points.


PRO 2WD Results

  1. Keegan Kincaid
  2. CJ Greaves
  3. Kyle Hart
  4. Arie Luyendyk Jr.
  5. Mike Jenkins
  6. Brad Lovell
  7. Rodney Van Eperen

unnamed (7)

Kyle Kleiman in spotlight in the Atturo Tire PRO Light class. (PHOTO: TORC Series)



A pair of familiar faces made their return to the TORC Series, and the podium, Friday night as 2010 PRO Light champion Casey Currie and former class regular Jessie Johnson raced to second- and third-place finishes. But it was Kyle Kleiman who earned victory — his third-straight win this year.

Currie took the early lead but after a caution brought out after a rollover by Johnson, Kleiman shot to the front and held position while a battle raged behind him.

“Honestly, my spotter doesn’t let me know what’s going on behind me because I don’t need to know,” said Kleiman. “Consistency is what I’ve been working on throughout this whole season.”

Meanwhile, points leader Kyle Hart battled hard with Travis Dinsmore, who earned a black flag for rough driving immediately after the mandatory yellow. Shawn Morris also earned a stop-and-go penalty for contact with Currie on the restart.

Currie, Johnson, and Bobby Runyan Jr., who finished a career-best fourth, battled hard for second with Currie and Johnson taking the podium spots after starting from the back of the grid.


Atturo Tire PRO Light Results

  1. Kyle Kleiman
  2. Jessie Johnson
  3. Casey Currie
  4. Bobby Runyan Jr.
  5. Travis Dinsmore
  6. Shawn Morris
  7. Kyle Hart
  8. Luke Johnson
  9. Ben Roper
  10. Cam Reimers
  11. Andrew Carlson
  12. Cody Kleiman

The Showdown in Charlotte continues on Saturday with Round 12 of the 2016 TORC National Championship, featuring full points races in three PRO classes and the Stadium SUPER Trucks. Opening ceremonies at The Dirt Track start at 7:30 p.m. (EDT), with Atturo Tire PRO Light competition kicking off the PROs at 7:45 p.m.

Live and on demand HD digital broadcasts of each round of the 2016 TORC Series are available, free of charge, at www.torcseries.com. Tape-delayed television programming of championship racing also airs on FS2, with exciting 90-minute shows slated for Thursday nights in primetime.


View the full photo album HERE.

Watch the video recap HERE.