CJ Greaves wins big at The Big House as the TORC Series crowns 2016 champs

September 3, 2016

Exciting finale for TORC: The Off-Road Championship presented by AMSOIL

TORC: The Off-Road Championship presented by AMSOIL capped another incredible season of short-course off-road racing on Saturday at Crandon International Off-Road Raceway.

CJ Greaves was the big winner this season, taking home both the PRO 4WD and PRO 2WD TORC Series titles for the second year in a row with a pair of Crandon podiums. Kyle Hart finished second in Saturday’s Atturo Tires PRO Light race to lock down his first-ever TORC Series title.

And the TORC Series awarded PRO UTV championships for the first time as record fields took to the historic Crandon track.

 unnamed (11)

CJ Greaves chases Johnny Greaves in PRO 4WD photo (PHOTO: TORC Series)


It was CJ Greaves who topped the championship standings after 13 rounds of close PRO 4WD competition this season, but his father Johnny Greaves earned the win on Saturday in a nail-biter of a finish. Father and son battled side-by-side to the line, with the elder Greaves taking the win by a scant .088 seconds.

Said CJ Greaves at the finish: “We came through the pack and made a couple good moves and once I got by my dad, I said: ‘Alright, let’s go!'”

Johnny Greaves got the holeshot while CJ Greaves bobbled, and had to make his way through the pack from fifth. He was up to second by the competition yellow and, on the restart, it was Greaves vs. Greaves to the line.

“We can’t ask for a better battle,” said Johnny Greaves after the race. “I know he’s a little bit better than me, but I still know I’m good enough to hold him off, and I just gotta cover the right lines and not make mistakes.”

PRO 4WD Results:

1. Johnny Greaves
2. CJ Greaves
3. Keegan Kincaid
4. Chad Hord
5. Kent Brascho
6. Jeff Kincaid
7. Ross Hoek
8. Scott Douglas
9. Mark Kvamme
10. Bradley Morris

unnamed (12)

Local driver Keegan Kincaid wins PRO 2WD in front of a hometown Crandon crowd. (PHOTO: TORC Series)


CJ Greaves arrived in Crandon with the PRO 2WD title in hand, after locking down the  championship win last month at The Dirt Track at Charlotte Motor Speedway. But Keegan Kincaid didn’t let down his hometown crowd and earned the final race win of the season. He took the holeshot and led the race to the checkers. Visiting driver Patrick Clark rounded out the podium, finishing in third.

“The sun was getting brutal,” said Kincaid. “We knew we just had to be consistent and I knew we couldn’t make a mistake with CJ behind me. We just laid down consistent laps.”

Arie Luyendyk Jr’s season of bad luck continued as he was caught up in a big wreck in the land rush start that ended his day within seconds of the green flag.

PRO 2WD Results

1. Keegan Kincaid
2. CJ Greaves
3. Patrick Clark
4. Luke Johnson
5. Rodney Van Eperen
6. Myan Spaccarelli
7. Nick Tyree
8. Sheldon Creed
9. Keith Steele
10. Eric Fitch
11. Arie Luyendyk Jr.
12. Brad Lovell
13. Jason DeGrave

unnamed (14)

It was a thrilling three-wide Atturo Tire PRO Light finish in Crandon. (PHOTO: TORC Series)


Strong work all season meant Kyle Hart had the Atturo Tires PRO Light title as soon as his wheels crossed the start line on Saturday, but that didn’t stop him from being a part of one of the most thrilling finishes in the history of The Big House.

Travis Dinsmore got it by a nose in a three-wide finish with Hart and Kyle Kleiman, who came into the final weekend of the season on a four-race hot streak.

“We had a tight finish there and [Hart] gave me a nasty little punt there after the checker, but here we are in the No. 1 spot and we’re good with that,” said Dinsmore after the race.

The three podium finishers ended the race the way they started, as Dinsmore took the holeshot over Hart. Last year’s Crandon winner Cam Reimers and 2010 class champion Casey Currie battled for third in the first couple laps, but Kleiman held them off to the podium.

Atturo Tire PRO Light Results

1. Travis Dinsmore
2. Kyle Hart
3. Kyle Kleiman
4. Casey Currie
5. Jeff Hoffman
6. Cam Reimers
7. Chad Rayford
8. Cory Winner
9. Brandon Arthur
10. Gavin Harlien
11. Bobby Runyan Jr.
12. Bradley Morris
13. Cody Kleiman
14. Andrew Carlson
15. Luke Johnson
16. Andrew Kossak
17. Jake Lunderby
18. Wade Wyman
19. Travis Pecoy
20. Shawn Morris

 unnamed (13)

There was a stacked field for the TORC Series PRO UTV finale. (PHOTO: TORC Series)


In the brand-new PRO UTV category, CJ Greaves won a stacked PRO Stock UTV race that featured a season-high 32 entrants, while Corry Weller finished third to take the first-ever class title. Treavis Poynter locked down the PRO Modified UTV championship win with a second-place result on Saturday. He trailed Robert Van Beekum across the line. The TORC Series added PRO UTV racing to the schedule for three stops this year.

TORC: The Off-Road Championship Presented by AMSOIL wrapped up its 2016 season Saturday at Crandon International Off-Road Raceway. For full championship points standings and more, please visit the home of all TORC Series information:www.torcseries.com.

The season finale joined the 47th annual Off-Road World Championship weekend in Crandon, with PRO racing in five classes: the powerful, four-wheel drive PRO 4WD trucks, the 900 horsepower rear-wheel drive PRO 2WD machines, the fiercely competitive Atturo Tire PRO Lights, as well as a return of the PRO UTV Modified and Stock divisions.

Along with TORC Series racing, the track plays host to a full slate of exciting events including Sportsman racing, live concerts, an in-town pit stop challenge and Sunday’sAMSOIL Cup and Crandon World Cup races. The traditional Labor Day weekend celebration of motorsport has welcomed tens of thousands of fans through the gates.

View full photo gallery HERE

View full results HERE

View video recap HERE